YEAR IN REVIEW: Top 100 Songs of 2013 [25-1]

(left to right) Daft Punk, Lorde, Justin Timberlake
(left to right) Daft Punk, Lorde, Justin Timberlake

For songs 100-76, click here.

For songs 75-51, click here.

For songs 50-26, click here.

Continue reading “YEAR IN REVIEW: Top 100 Songs of 2013 [25-1]”


YEAR IN REVIEW: Top 100 Songs of 2013 [100-76]

(left to right) Daft Punk, Lorde, Justin Timberlake

(left to right) Daft Punk, Lorde, Justin Timberlake

I’ve already shown you the best new artists and remixes of 2013, but now it is time to start the rollout of the 100 greatest songs of the past twelve months. A lot of extremely difficult decisions had to be made in editing this list down to the final 100, but these are the 100 songs that you need to know the most.

Over the next four days, I will unveil 25 songs each day, with the top 25 songs of the year being revealed on Monday, 16 December 2013.

Continue reading “YEAR IN REVIEW: Top 100 Songs of 2013 [100-76]”

CURRENT: Neneh Cherry – “Blank Project”



The case of Neneh Cherry is a curious one. Her debut album, 1989’s Raw Like Sushi, stunned critics, but since then the enigmatic singer has taken her time to craft follow-ups to that career defining set, most recently releasing a collaborative album with jazz collective The Thing on The Cherry Thing last year.

Now the Swedish-born singer is set to release a solo album, produced solely by Four Tet. Cherry has not lost any of her amazing talents, as she sounds as vital and raw as ever before. “Blank Project” tiptoes the line between experimental and recognizable, never feeling too safe or too challenging.

Blank Project is out 26 February 2014 in the U.S. and a day earlier internationally on Smalltown Supersound.

CURRENT: Katy B – “Crying For No Reason”


In the lead up to Katy B’s forthcoming LP Little Red, due out in the first quarter of 2014, we’ve heard some of the best electro-pop tracks this side of Robyn, with Katy B picking up right where she left off on her thrilling 2012 EP Danger. She slows things down on this new single, “Crying For No Reason.” “I made promises I could not keep,” sings the UK pop diva, owning her past mistakes while making sure she doesn’t fall victim to them twice.

CURRENT: Disclosure, Nile Rogers, Sam Smith & Jimmy Napes – “Together”



What do you do for a follow-up to one of the most beloved electronica albums of the year? For Disclosure’s Guy and  Howard Lawrence, following up their phenomenal debut LP Settle apparently means releasing one-off singles that rival the best moments on the stellar long player. After the gargantuan “Apollo,” the brothers have once again teamed up with Sam Smith and Jimmy Napes, who together helped the duo breakthrough with “Latch” late last year, as well as Daft Punk collaboration and Chic member Nile Rodgers, because, well, why not? “Together” takes all the best qualities of Settle and Nile Rodgers’ work on Random Access Memories, all while Sam Smith continues to assert himself as one of the more compelling voices to emerge out of the UK these past 12 months. The brutally short track won’t satiate your appetite for Disclosure’s brand of house-inspired electronica, but it will make you even hungrier for more material from any of “Together”‘s collaborators.