CURRENT: Beyoncé – “Sorry”

Beyoncé’s new album is great. I wrote about Lemonade yesterday, but today I wanted to highlight the song that has sunk in as my personal favorite from the album. The emotional title card to “Sorry” is Apathy, and the song is Beyoncé at her most dismissive since B’Day‘s smash single “Irreplaceable.” “Middle fingers up, put them hands high / Wave it in his face, tell him, ‘boy, bye,'” she sings as she takes a night off to give no fucks, to – if I may paraphrase an old hit of hers – live as if she were a boy. While the anger she releases on the preceding “Don’t Hurt Yourself” is extremely vital, the cool, casual tone she uses in “Sorry” is more devastating. She begins the third verse with the venom-injecting “looking at my watch, he shoulda been home / today I regret the night I put that ring on / he always got them fucking excuses,” and later, and perhaps even more painfully, singing, “me and my baby, we gon’ be alright / we gon’ live a good life / Big homie better grow up.” Even as she puts Jay Z on blast, she admits that “I ain’t sorry.” She doesn’t need to make any apologies. The world revolves around her.

Lemonade is available now on iTunes.

Leave a Reply

