CURRENT: Angel Haze – “Echelon (It’s My Way)”

Angel Haze’s return today with new single “Echelon (It’s My Way)” could have gone one of two ways: a huge disappointment, another example of why record labels need to stop overreaching, or another reminder as to why Angel Haze might be the scariest female emcee in the game right now. It turns out that, over an assaulting electronica instrumental, Haze once again delivers her rhymes as if her life depended on it.

None of her signature intensity is missing, as she delivers verbal jab after verbal jab, landing each one squarely on the jaw: “My bitch look like she Jasmine/My nigga look like Aladdin” and “Bitches talk behind my back cause they never in the front” being too of her better lines here. The hook is all peace and butterflies, and with her warning us to “alert the masses / tell them that it’s coming,” I’m not sure if I should be excited, or terrified.

Leave a Reply

